Compose Database-as-a-Service Help and Documentation

Everything you need to know about Compose, Hosted or Enterprise, is here in our help system. Whether you run one database for your businesses' sole application or six different databases to support an entire corporation, we've got the information you need.

Accounts FAQ

How can I update my database passwords?

As with any password you maintain, it is good practice to regularly update it to a secure, not-easily-guessed value. There are a number of tools available online that can generate strong passwords. If you want to update the password that you use for any of your databases hosted with Compose, please follow these steps:

  1. If your application is in production, make sure to place it briefly in maintenance mode.

  2. Log into Compose and select the database you want to update.

  3. From the Collections view, click on the Admin view.

  4. From the Admin view, click on the Users tab.

  5. For the user you want to change the password, you will need to first delete the user by clicking the Remove button to the right of the user record.

  6. In the db.addUser box above the Users list enter the details for the user (same username) again however with the new password.

  7. Click the Add user button.

The database has been updated. From there, you can update your application with the new password, test your connection, and then return to production.

If you have any additional questions about this, please contact our Support Team at support@compose.io. We are happy to help you out.

How can I update my account password?

Along with your MongoDB database password, Compose provides you with a Compose web account to manage your databases. If you want to update this password, it is simple. Here are the steps:

  1. Log into Compose and select your name from the menu in the top-right.

  2. Select Change Password.

  3. Enter your new password. Confirm it. Click the Change Password button.

If you have any additional questions about this, please contact our Support Team at support@compose.io. We are happy to help you out.

How can I change the owner of my account?

The following explains how to change the owner of an account:

  1. Log into Compose as the current account owner and click the account name in the top-right menu.
  2. If the new account owner is not already a user added to the account then click on the Users link in the menu on the left and add the new account owner as a user.
  3. Click on the Account link in the menu on the left and locate the Account Settings section. Select the new account owner in the drop down list for the Account Owner.
  4. Click the Update Account button at the botton of the page.

If you have any additional questions about this, please contact our Support Team at support@compose.io. We are happy to help you out.

How do I add a user to my account?

The following explains how to add a new dashboard user to your MongoHQ account:

  1. Click on name in top right corner after logging in.
  2. Click on the Users link on the left
  3. Then click the Add User button

If you have any additional questions about this, please contact our Support Team at support@compose.io. We are happy to help you out.

How do I delete a deployment?

To remove a deployment, you'll need to click into the deployment that you'd like to remove. Then click the "Settings" icon for that deployment. Then scroll to the bottom of the page and click the "Delete Deployment" button. Be very careful! You'll want to make sure that you've taken any appropriate backups as this action cannot be undone.

Once you've done that, the deployment is removed from your account and billing is stopped.

How do I close my account?

You're welcome to keep your account open and not retain any billable databases if you like -- all you need to do is remove all deployments on the account and you will not be billed, but you'll keep your Compose account ready for your next deployment. Note that we charge on the first Friday of each month, so if you were to remove all deployments at this time, there would still be a smaller outstanding charge that you'll see at the beginning of next month. However, that will be the last charge that you'd have.

If you're sure you want to close your account permanently, head over to https://app.compose.io, and log in to follow these few steps:

  1. Make sure you download any backups that you may need. Once your account is removed from our system, your data will be scrubbed and unrecoverable. Once you've got that final backup, you can continue on.
  2. For each deployment, click the name of the deployment, then "Settings", and then "Delete Deployment". Deployments are fully removed within just 1-2 minutes of clicking the "Delete Deployment" button.
  3. After you've removed your deployments, head over to the "Account" tab where you'll find a "Close Account" button. Click that to confirm and you're all set!

Please note that this is a one way action. This isn't an account pause or freeze, and the account can never be opened again.

Accounts FAQ